I Can’t Quit You Baby!

Sometimes you just can’t let go

We all have them. I don’t care who you are, you have one. You have something that you should probably give up. If you say you don’t have one then you’ve just exhibited one. Can you say closemindedness? I thought you could.

AddictedBrainScansA bad thought. A bad tendency. A bad habit. A bad relationship. A bad job. An addiction. A bad life. Wait, keep the last one, and let’s work on improving that instead of quitting. Different post. But we all have them. We’re wired for them.

Why are some things so hard to quit? I’ve quit watching broadcast and network television. That was relatively easy, but probably because I had grown so averse to commercials. Quitting some of the things you’ve come to hate is usually a snap. Network television is a case in point.

Not so easy for bad relationships. Or bad jobs. Even if you’ve come to hate them. Some relationships we’ve become so invested in we can’t quit. Then there’s that whole peer pressure thing about “Can’t you just work it out?” Usually not. And even if we can, it’s never the same. The trust is gone.

Bad jobs are another can of worms. Most of us (at least those with work-a-day jobs) need that crummy job. Hurling ourselves over the precipice of unemployment is unthinkable unless there are extreme circumstances. I’m not sure how extreme those circumstances would have to be. A bad job is better than homelessness in my book.

A bad thought? I guess it depends on the thought. Maybe just get a new one to think of when the old one crops up? Sounds too easy. A bad tendency? Sounds kind of like a bad habit. Sounds doable.

An addiction? Now those are really hard to break, I can tell you from experience! Try to quit smoking (I did.) Or drinking (I still always ask why I would want to.) Or heroin (never had that one.) There’s a physiological component that is hard to shake. Many people can’t quit even when they are faced with death.

I guess, in the end, it’s all about rewards. If the reward you experience from your bad “thing” is greater than the reward you anticipate receiving when you quit, you probably won’t quit.

But if you do, congratulations and good job!

Happy Endings

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

5 thoughts on “I Can’t Quit You Baby!”

  1. I have gone 6 days now without a sip of wine, my favorite addiction one might say. It was once vodka but after having kids I just couldn’t drink the stuff anymore. So I found a love for wine…started off with white then moved to pink moscato, and in the end I loved red blends with just a hint of sweet. Can you tell it’s been a hard 6 days. I’ve never considered myself to have an “addictive” personality …I’ve done a lot of drugs in my younger years but was never addicted to any of them …I would do them recreationally one night and then it would be awhile before I did them again. But the red wine, which started off with a glass here and there eventually turned into a bottle a night. I wasn’t drunk and rarely even buzzed but I felt a guilt about drinking everyday so I have decided to try and prove to myself that I can go without it…we shall see how far I get. I liked your article, found it very “familiar”. Nice to connect with you. 💌Trista, Domesticated Momster

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading and good luck on your resolution. It helps that you’ve turned it into a challenge with your husband. “The hell I won’t quit this!” Mankind has been consuming alcohol since the Egyptians, because before water purification became widespread, water could kill you. It’s a recent phenomenon this “demon alcohol” attitude, and it comes and goes. I think if you were to go by the strict letter of the definitions they use for alcoholic (habitual consumption) then a habit of having a glass of champagne every New Year’s would qualify you as one. As long as you know when to say when . . . just sayin’. Thanks for coming by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

