Time Travel for Fun and Profit

Would you go back in time if you could?

Dr. Emmett Brown’s DeLorean screeches to a halt in front of my place. “Come on rudy! Let’s go! When do you want to go back to? I’ve just tuned up the flux capacitor and Great Scott she’s working remarkably well!”

“Geez Doc, I dunno. Isn’t that time travel thing of yours a little dicey? I remember McFly telling me all the trouble he had last time he hit 88 miles an hour in that thing. Besides, I’m not sure there’s anything in the past I’d want to go back for.”

“Yeah, there was some serious shit when McFly hit 88, just as I predicted. But I’ve vastly improved the flux capacitor and with some additional modifications and some new calculations … Great Scott!”

“What’s wrong Doc?”

“My calculations! I think I’ve forgotten to carry the one! I’d better get back to the lab and recheck them.”

“OK, see ya Doc!” The DeLorean screams off in a cloud of thick, acrid smoke.

Man, I’m really glad I didn’t go. I’m just fine right here in the present. I mean, yeah, it would be nice to go back and relive some old memories, but I’m afraid reliving them may not be as nice as remembering them. I tend to forget the bad things and embellish the good things, and I’m just fine with that. Burnished memories. Some things are better when you look at them through the lens of time.

Of course, I could go back to when I laughed in the face of that guy who was trying to sell me Microsoft stock back in the 80’s. That was a real boneheaded thing to do. Still, it would probably just give me more things to worry about right now, so I guess it’s probably better that I don’t. I’m just fine with where I’m at right now because I don’t dwell on bygone decisions. Yesterday’s history, tomorrow’s a mystery, right now is a gift, that’s why it’s called the present.

No, no thanks Doc. I appreciate the offer of going back and reliving some good times, or maybe changing something I did in the past, but that would mean I have to leave the present, and I’m just fine with the present.

If I Could Turn Back Time

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

4 thoughts on “Time Travel for Fun and Profit”

  1. I would like to go back in time if it was to visit an era during which I wasn’t alive to experience, but I’d hate to go back to my teens! I have zero desire to relive all that confusion, drama and uncertainty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

