My advice to bloggers everywhere

Words to blog by

My favorite bit about that is attributed (on Google) to guru Sai Baba:

“Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it necessary, is it true, does it improve on the silence?”

If we could all just remember this …

Before you publish a post, reread your post, and ask yourself these questions. Before you send that comment, reread your comment, and ask yourself these questions.

If the answer is ever anything but an unequivocal “Yes”, then choose silence.

Key Takeaway

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

6 thoughts on “My advice to bloggers everywhere”

  1. Good advice, Rudy. I have one post I spent hours and hours on but never posted for this very reason. It is clever, it is true, but it was unkind. On second thought I didn’t want it out there in the world. Thanks for reminding us of this very good rule for life. Judy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your thoughts. Just playing devil’s advocate, though… sometimes, we who aim to change the world… does kindness always cut it, or do we sometimes need to get a little down and dirty to stir things up a bit? Hmmm?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kindness does not preclude disagreement. You can always express disagreement in a kind way.

      However, to do so may require some time and distance. When someone says something you disagree with there is always an emotional response. You may need time to separate the emotions you feel about the disagreement from the person you are disagreeing with. Once you’ve separated the message and the messenger you’re more able to disagree kindly.

      If I get an email that I disagree with I may well write my response in the heat of the emotion I feel at that time. But I never hit send. I always wait, sometimes days, then I reread it. And I’m almost always able to see that I’ve not separated the message and the messenger. I go back and edit, and the result is always more kind.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

