Quote-a-Palooza

Some of my favorite quotes

Oh gosh! I do love me some quotes! Today the Daily Prompt from the folks at the Daily Post asked me if I “have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?”

Comício_republicano_(1908-06-28),_à_esquerda_do_orador,_Eusébio_LeãoBut, I have so many, so I thought I would share a few of them, along with what moves me about them. Many are somewhat (somewhat!) political in nature (I was doing a little political writing at the time I collected them), and I don’t want this to devolve into political pie fight, so the political ones I may just explain the politics at the time the author made the quote and let you draw your own conclusions.

So, here we go, with rudyblues’ Quote-a-Palooza! Oh, btw, the quotes revealed and the opinions expressed are those of the authors and in no way reflect badly on me, WordPress, or anyone else. Come on, it’s just for fun. Lighten up!

To these unfortunate citizens aid must be extended by Government–not as a matter of charity but as a matter of social duty.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt

This is one I live by. The basic human needs of every person on the planet must be met before the material wants of any person on the planet should even be considered. Period.

Democracy is a device that ensures we shall be governed no better than we deserve.

George Bernard Shaw

Shaw wrote during the time of Karl Marx. It was a time when unbridled democratic capitalism was plundering the world’s resources while subjecting the majority of mankind to abject poverty. Naturally, as an iconoclast, he would berate democracy, since he was aligned with the popular alternative social arrangement of the time. Pair this one with the following quote and you have the United States today.

One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors.

Plato

Get yourself wizened up and vote. Don’t follow anyone else’s leads. Read about it and make up your own mind. Don’t follow the crowd. And don’t be a single issue voter. That’s ridiculous. Life is not a single issue. It’s a tangled mat of issues that all interact. If you choose one clown based on a single issue that clown will likely be wrong on a host of other issues. And then we all lose. There’s no shirking of this responsibility. Otherwise your democracy is going to insure that you’re governed no better than you deserve by your inferiors. Not that it isn’t already.

The faults of the burglar are the qualities of the financier.

George Bernard Shaw

I love Shaw. He was a quote machine. This speaks to the Gordon Geckos of the world. Greed is one of the seven deadly sins. And isn’t “Thou shalt not steal” on of the Ten Commandments? Why do we like these people?

Politics: A strife of interests masquerading as a contest of principles. The conduct of public affairs for private advantage.

Ambrose Bearce

For every crooked politician there are hundreds of crooked businessmen waiting to bribe them. If businessmen weren’t as corrupt as politicians there would be no political corruption. Just say no!

The modern conservative is engaged in one of man’s oldest exercises in moral philosophy; that is, the search for a superior moral justification for selfishness.

John Kenneth Galbraith

Here’s to the 1%, huzzah!

Nothing is sufficient for the person who finds sufficiency too little.

Epicurus

And again to the 1%, for whom everything is not enough!

The most perfect political community is one in which the middle class is in control, and outnumbers both of the other classes.

Aristotle

If only. Was he prescient or what?

Always question authority. It probably doesn’t know the answer.

rudyblues

OK, that last one probably won’t make it to posterity. But I love the author.

Quote Me

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

6 thoughts on “Quote-a-Palooza”

    1. Thank you! And thanks for reading and commenting. Sometimes people are able to string together words in a way that effect us in a profound way. If I find such a construction of words I like to share them. Perhaps you will share yours as well? I think it helps us all.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Here are my two favourite quotes.

        Have Courage & Be kind(From the new Cinderella Movie) but it truly inspired me, that no matter what happens and who is harming you and trying to bring you down(Life included) just constantly be kind, have courage and do good. It is a working progress for me(it is easier said than done, don’t you think?)

        My second one is:
        We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty”-Maya Angelou

        I see it as, don’t judge a book by its cover. It can link with my first one. But yeah, that’s my quotes I stand by 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I think the Plato one is my favorite in this post. My two personal quotes I try to live by are:

    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. -Albert Einstein
    Silence is the voice of complicity. -Exact words unattributed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice article! I’m enjoying your blog! Please accept these quotes as two of my personal favorites:

    1) “Don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things.” -George Carlin

    2) “The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.” -unknown

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

