The Month in Review: January 2016

Wherein we assess the damage done

A month’s end look at the good, the bad, and the ugly from Rudy’s Ruminations.

Well gentle reader(s), it’s the end of the month. Yeah, I know, where did it go? I thought I would take this opportunity to use some of those nifty stats thingies that the folks at WordPress so kindly provide. Remember, statistics don’t lie. Or is it statisticians that don’t lie? I always forget.

2016-01-Monthly-StatsI’d also like to bring you some of the more popular posts from the past month’s ruminating that you (possibly on purpose) may have missed. Kind of like a Golden Oldies, only not quite so golden, and not really all that old. You work with what you got.

And I’d also like to spotlight some of my beloved follower(s) and maybe convince you to visit them a little more often. Shameless self-promotion only goes so far.

2016-01-Monthly-Stats

Views

Views in January were at 474, up from a paltry 11 views in December 2015 (thanks Mom). If my math serves me correctly, which it rarely does, that’s a 4,209% increase in views over December. Wow! Impressive. I would like to attribute that increase to the staggeringly good writing here on Rudy’s Ruminations. Ahem. OK, it’s probably because I started paying attention to the damn thing. I just show the data. You make the calls.

Visitors

There were 175 visitors in January, up from an anemic six in December 2015. I think four of those might have been me clicking the wrong link. Again, with questionable math, that’s an increase of 2,816% over December. Probably because I posted more. Could be because I started using the “read more” tag, which causes the WordPress reader to display the “Visit Rudy’s Ruminations to see more” line below the post in the reader. I’ll bet there’s some who find that ruse an annoying bit of self-promotion. Well, tough. Get over it and click the link.

Likes

Likes were up too. In January there were 199 likes, up from the big zip, zilch, naught, nada, zero in December. That’s a whopping 19,900% increase over December. Well, well, well, in the words of the immortal Stuart Smalley, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it…,” nah, it’s probably because I put some posts up. Sympathy likes.

Comments

Comments were up, to 84 from zero. See commentary under “Likes.” I’m sensing something here. Build it, and the probability that they will come is increased by infinity. Plus one.

Posts

Since I started paying more attention to posting regularly it would follow that posts went up, to 29 (30 if you count this one) from a mere seven in December. According to the gentle reader(s) these were the top five most viewed posts:

Fashion Sensations of my Youth – posted Jan. 3, 2016 – 26 views

There’s a Hole in my Bucket – posted Jan. 23, 2016 – 23 views

New made up word of the day – posted Jan. 15, 2016 – 21 views

The Eighth Deadly Sin – posted Jan. 30, 2016 – 18 views (seems like yesterday)

Time Travel for Fun and Profit – posted Jan. 12, 2016 – 18 views

Maybe next month I’ll correlate views and likes. Maybe not. It might be too depressing.

Followers

And now, without further ado, the stat we’ve all been waiting for, followers. I had six followers in the month of December (and I’d like to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you, you too Mom). We’re up to a whopping 29 in January. That’s a 383% increase, not bad. Following is a pretty heavy commitment. I mean, what if you follow someone and then it turns out you have nothing in common? Do you just keep following them? Is “unfollowing” like a divorce? Are there lawyers involved? My deepest apologies to any lawyers offended by that last bit.

Here’s where I pitch some of my wonderful follower(s):

153 Promise – JenniferOzgur
-Creating a space for families to make proactive choices that foster positive mental health

My first follower will always have a place in my heart. 153 Promise has a purpose, unlike this blog, which is quite apparently without purpose. And without talent. And without so many other things. Show her some love, go check it out!

 

Domesticated MOMster – Trista Souza
… what happens to mommy once she gets to 3

This woman makes me laugh. Coffee comes out of my nose and goes all over my keyboard. It’s especially embarrassing at work. People stare and mock and taunt. Warning: viewer discretion is advised, as there is occasionally what old rudyblues might call “colorful” language. She’s a hoot.

 

Anndelize: Artist, Illustrator
Fine Art, fine HeArt

She’s my latest follower. She’s an artist and an illustrator and a blogger and she’s one of those people that makes old rudyblues go curl up in a corner and say “What on earth were you thinking, you talentless putz.” Go check some of the artwork out. It’s amazing.

Well, that’s all folks! Hope you enjoyed the show, and that you’ll come back next month. Until then I bid you all a fond adieu, sans the little apostrophe or whatever that thing is that the French are able to make on their keyboards that I never can. Happy blogging!

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

2 thoughts on “The Month in Review: January 2016”

  1. WOW!!! I’m so glad I visited you again! *blushes*

    I’m so honored and humbled. I also really needed this boost to my day. As you know, I lost my Grammy, so feeling your love warms my cockles. (Heh-heh.)

    I also like this post because I, too, love to perseverate over the “stats” of my blog. I’m experimenting with different types of titles, tags, lengths of posts… it seems like a crap shoot at this point. But I’ve only been doing this for about six weeks, so it’s not been much of a longitudinal study.

    To wit: I really thought yesterday’s post would be a hit… not. so. much. However, on short ditty I dashed off got the 2nd biggest following to date… which is still not saying much.

    And so it goes.

    But thank you so much for the paying it forward. I think I’ll PINGBACK this post… if I can replicate the deed from last week.

    -Kisses! XxXx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

