You’ll Soon Be Gone, That’s Just as Well

Song lyrics that resonate

The title of this post is a line from the Jackson Browne song “My Opening Farewell,” the final track on his 1972 debut release, “Saturate before Using”. Aside from being a beautiful song, these words have always spoken to me in ways I am still discovering.

SaturateBeforeUsingThese words were particularly poignant for the 1972 version of me. I was just beginning to grasp the tenuous and fleeting nature of our relationships with each other. These words rang so true in so many relationships then. They inform me in relationships to this day. No one is forever. You’ll soon be gone, and that’s just as well.

This. This is how so many of us move away from each other. These words still bring a tear to my eye. But that’s just as well. I hope they resonate with you as well.

Daylight loses to another evening

And still she spares me the word good-bye

And sits along beside me fighting her feelings

Struggles to speak, but in the end, can only cry

 

Suddenly, it’s so hard to find

The sound of the words to speak her troubled mind

So I’m offering these to her as if to be kind

There’s a train every day leaving either way

There’s a world, you know, there’s a way to go

And you’ll soon be gone, that’s just as well

This is my opening farewell

The original.

 

And another version from the inimitable Bonnie Raitt.

 

Peace

This Is Your Song

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

1 thought on “You’ll Soon Be Gone, That’s Just as Well”

Leave a Reply

