You Go Back, Jack, and Do it Again

Bubba and rudyblues discuss reading

Bubba: Read it again! Hell, I had a hard enough time readin’ it the first time. Why would I read it again? Are those Daily Post people some kinda sadists?

Boys_of_miners_in_the_first_grade._Kentucky_Straight_Creek_Coal_Company,_Belva_Mine,_abandoned_after_explosion_(in)..._-_NARA_-_541225rudyblues: No Bubba, they’re not sadists. Some books impact people so much that they read them again. It’s not all that unusual.

Bubba: Well it sure as hell is where I come from! Only thing I read twice is my lottery ticket, wanna make sure I’m not a millionaire. Swimmin’ pools, movie stars.

rudyblues: So do you read at all Bubba?

Bubba: Yeah, I read plenty, rudyblues. Whenever the Cabela’s catalog comes in the mail I read it cover to cover. And I read the Burpee Seed catalog. And Playboy, I read that!

rudyblues: But aren’t you just looking at the pictures?

Bubba: That’s readin’, ain’t it? I look at the prices in the catalogs, too.

rudyblues: You know, if you read more you might enjoy it more. Who knows, you might even find a book that you’d like to read again.

Bubba: I’ve done all the readin’ I need to, rudyblues. I’m a high school graduate, after all.

rudyblues: Yeah readin’, and writin’, and ‘rithmatic. First grade must have been the hardest three years of your life. You’re a regular Rhodes Scholar.

Bubba: You betcha, I know all the roads between here and Bugtussle.

rudyblues: Yeah, I’ll bet you do.

Bubba: Well Mr. Smartypants rudyblues, did you ever read a book twice?

rudyblues: Well, yes, I have.

Bubba: Well what books have you read twice? Maybe I’ll try one of them.

rudyblues: You could start with “Call of the Wild” by Jack London. I read that a couple of times when I was a kid.

Bubba: Well maybe I will. Hey, does the phone book count? I’ve read that a bunch of times!

rudyblues: [facepalm]

Second Time Around

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

Leave a Reply

