Statistics Don’t Lie

I’m not a statistician, and I don’t play one on TV

Back at the end of January 2106 I put up a little “Month in Review” post in which I reviewed the stats for the month’s posts. Yes, the numbers were paltry, but I did it anyway. So get over it. I’m doing it again at the end of February. And March. And April. Do you see the pattern yet? I’m giving you ample warning to change the channel.

WordPressPublishControlMy friends at the Daily Post are asking me to compare and contrast my top three posts to see if they can shame me into shutting this thing down if I can find out why they were successful and if there’s a connection between them. I’ll admit that when I did my month’s-end review I wasn’t looking for connections. I was just glad there were some numbers to report.

I am happy to announce (I guess) that the top three dogs have not changed! The most viewed post, “Fashion Sensations of My Youth,” is one I certainly didn’t expect to see in first place. When I wrote it I thought “Meh.” I posted it on the January 3, 2016, which was a Sunday. I think it got a couple of views that day, and it finished the week strong.

When I went back to look at it, with an eye towards why I thought it did well, I was puzzled at first. A seemingly random post about shoes. Nothing remarkable. Some words strung together in a not unpleasing fashion. But as I read it I realized that it spoke to something we all have likely experienced at some point in our lives. So maybe I’m onto something here, let’s pursue this.

The runner up was a a rant post called “There’s a Hole in my Bucket”, in response to a request about some item on my Bucket List. It was posted January 23, 2016, and it grew legs right out of the gate. Again, upon further review, I think it may have struck a nerve with readers who, like me, think that there wouldn’t be an Internet full of Bucket Lists if it wasn’t for the movie. So maybe another point for that “speaking to something we all have experienced” thing. Hmm, two for two.

But the third post does not follow suit. It was published on January 15, 2016, and it too did well out of the blocks. “New made up word of the day” is not a rant, and it doesn’t (at least in my mind) speak to anything that we all have experienced. Is it a fluke? Is it an outlier? I don’t know. Maybe we’ve all experienced Niagric something at sometime.

In the end, I’d like to think that I can string some words together in a fashion that some people like to read, on a subject that many people find, if not interesting, at least acceptable, with a minimum of grammatical shortcomings. Sprinkle in a dash of self-deprecation, a (very) little outrage, maybe some humor, and that’s what I think ties them together.

Or it could be people with new tablets making random, unintentional clicks. Yeah, that’s probably it.

The Stat Connection

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

5 thoughts on “Statistics Don’t Lie”

  1. In trying to catch up on reading other peoples blogs (you’re my first to check out!), I found this post.

    Did you know that 30% of all statistics are false?

    I, too, try to analyze the randomness of my posts… Reminds me of the scene in “The Silence of the Lambs” when they note that Buffalo Bill’s hits are desperately random.

    Maybe one day I’ll find a common thread with mine…

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you have a theme (raising good kids with lots of love) and it’s a broad enough theme to allow you to explore many areas of the theme in a seemingly random fashion. Like different movements in the same symphony, they all add to the whole.

      Like

      1. Some of it might also have to do with how passionately you feel about your subject matter. And you do feel passionately about it. You labor over a post you feel is important, one that you feel should resonate with everyone, and crickets. Some of those might be good material for reworking into other posts, either as links or as jumping off points for further investigation.

        Like

Leave a Reply

