A Passion for Compassion

What we all need more of

G._Conti_La_parabola_del_Buon_Samaritano_Messina_Chiesa_della_Medaglia_Miracolosa_Casa_di_Ospitalità_Collereale
The Good Samaritan

OK, so the Daily Post people want me to brag on myself for the Daily Prompt about my favorite thing about myself. Man, this is not my strong suit. Can I just take a beating instead?

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

So I had to think about it a bit. Hmm, what’s my favorite thing about myself? Is it something physical, like my smile? Nah, I’m physically unremarkable, that’s not it. Is it some talent I have, like playing the guitar? Nah, there’s lots of better players in the world, that can’t be it. Is it something I make, or cook, or something like that? Nah, that’s all pretty unremarkable too.

Then it struck me. My favorite thing about myself is my compassion. There are very few people in the world who cannot arouse my sense of compassion. Even the biggest jerk in the world deserves compassion when they’re in a bind.

Compassion derives from the Latin, meaning “co-suffering.” If you are suffering, I am too, and I will try to help. Sometimes too much. Better that than to turn a cold shoulder.

This post goes against every fiber of my being. Show with your actions, don’t tell with your words. Help everyone, someday you may need help yourself.

Toot Your Horn

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

4 thoughts on “A Passion for Compassion”

  1. Compassion could cure a number of the ills in this world. I could even use more of it myself. Very hard to feel compassion toward those who have done much evil in the world. I fear I haven’t reached that point. I have learned, and been reminded very recently, that judging unfairly is so easy to do based on prior experience. Today a feeling toward a certian group of people I’ve been wronged by in the past was suddenly dispelled and it brought the lesson you seem to know so well across to me again. I think understanding is something we need to keep working on. No matter how kind we try to be to others, it’s hard not to have some prejudice as well–that we don’t recognize as prejudice because it isn’t one of the usual ones that we consider to be wrong. Good post, Rudy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not a doctor, and I don’t play one on TV, but I think a little of the prejudice is wired into our primitive brain from when “us and them” was more of a survival skill. Now that it’s not as necessary we need to get the prefrontal lobe to overpower the primitive brain and do some more caring.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

