The Month in Review: February 2016

Wherein, once again, we assess the damage done

A month’s end look at the good, the bad, and the ugly from Rudy’s Ruminations.

Well gentle reader(s), it’s the end of the month again. And you know what that means, right? Time once again for old rudyblues to get out his horn, wipe the spittle off the mouthpiece, and blow for all he’s worth! I’m out of breath just writing that last sentence. I think it was the exclamation mark.

2016-02-Monthly-StatsWe all know February is the shortest month of the year, with only, let’s see, 28 days (yes, I was reciting the little poem, just like you were). They even gave it an extra day this year, so I think it should have felt a little longer, but still, where did it all go? I was just shaking the last of the glitter out of my hair from that outrageous New Year’s hat they made me wear, and I look up, and here it’s March already. Well, I’m really just shaking it out of my Andy Rooney eyebrows, since I’m bald as a billiard ball (nature’s choice, I just finished the job), but you get the drift.

So let’s use some of those nifty stats thingies that the WordPress folks so kindly provide and see what happened in February. Remember, statistics don’t lie. No, really, they don’t. Believe me, I’ve suffered through these stats.

I’ll also bring you the most popular posts from the past month’s ruminating so you can have one more opportunity to ignore them. Golden Oldies we like to call them, because Leaden Oldies just doesn’t have the same ring.

And once again, I’ll spotlight some of my beloved follower(s) in a perhaps futile attempt to get you to show them some love. Come on! They deserve it! They put up with me in their Reader.

2016-02-Monthly-Stats

Views

Well, unfortunately, views were down over January, to 415 from 491, a month over month decrease of about 15%. I’ll attribute that to the short month, and to the fact that everybody was surfing the net during the first few days of January. Come on, admit it, that first week of the year, after you made that resolution to blog more, what you really did was read more blogs, right? I know I did. But, on a more positive note, it was a 415% increase year over year. Never mind that I wasn’t doing this blog thing in February of 2015. I need some consolation.

Visitors

Visitors were down a bit over January as well, to 164 from 179, a decrease of about 8% month over month. Not as bad as views. Maybe I tricked some people into clicking onto the site. Again, year over year, I’m killing it here! Woo hoo! I still think the WordPress stats are a little dicey. How can you get view and a like but not a visit? Just wondering.

Likes

Likes were down too, to 193 from 207, just a 6% decrease month over month. I’ll stop with the consolation bit. This isn’t so bad. Even with the extra day, and missing a couple of days posting in February, that’s not too bad. Add a couple more posts and this might have been up with January. After I called everyone I know and begged them to like the posts. I’m not above that. Absolutely shameless, I am.

Comments

Comments were down a bit as well, to 77 from 84, a month over month change of 8% as well. Really folks, I do try to respond to your comments. Maybe I should respond twice. That would increase comments by 33%! I think I’m on to something here!

Posts

I published 27 posts in February. Yeah, I know, I told you I missed a couple of days. Forgive me Father for I have sinned, I didn’t post on my blog every day in February! Jeez. Here’s the five least offensive, according to a recent user poll, oh, but wait. We have an absolute dead heat photo finish for first place. That’s unprecedented in the one month history of Rudy’s Ruminations! And you were there.

Speaking of Public Speaking – posted February 4, 2016 – 20 views

Do You Promise Not to Tell? – posted February 17, 2016 – 20 views

May I Have a Word with You – posted February 26, 2016 – 20 views

A Face for Radio – posted February 3, 2016 – 17 views

I Just Want To Tell You How Proud I Am of You – February 24, 2016 – 16 views

Total views of the top least offensive posts were down month over month. I’m not sure if that’s significant or just numbers for the sake of numbers.

Followers

Well, we’re to the one stat with positive numbers this month, Followers! Rudy’s Ruminations started the month of February with a mere 29 followers. And now, thanks to you wonderful people out there in Blogistan, were up to a whopping 42 followers. Can you believe it? Ok, it’s only a net of 13, but that’s not so bad for a month that was shortchanged back in Roman times, right?

Now to the part where I pitch some of those wonderful follower(s):

My Friday Blog – Josh Wrenn

My blog that used to be on Fridays

Josh is another long time follower. Not relative to the space-time continuum, but long for me. He doesn’t need my promotion, this is more of an “I’m not worthy” thing. I’d call his blog “eclectic.” Kinda like mine. Only not as sucky. You Ok Josh? Haven’t seen you in a while? Try this one.

imyesterdaysgirl – bridgetmariebirdie

a blog about history….

Old rudyblues has a soft spot for history. And not just because he’s a part of it! Some checkered. This lady has a cool new feature she’s doing that I think we should all get onboard with. It’s called “A Photo & 5”, and it’s a great photo of a historic place and five facts about the place. And this woman knows the facts, Jack! She’s got a history degree! I just have a history. And a record. No, a phonograph record, jeez. And what’s more, we get to play along! Leave a request for your favorite historical sight and she’ll bring a cool photo and some stuff you didn’t know! Personalized history lessons!

Emma Eats Italian – emmaeatsitalian

Writings on Italian foodstuffs, from my plate to yours

She’s my most recent follower. This lady got her love for Italian food in Italy! What? I got mine from Pizza Hut. I think I’m missing out on something here. Who you gonna call? Watch this one. I have no idea what this guy’s saying. I heard spagetti. Emma, can you translate?

 

Well, that’s all folks! Hope you enjoyed the show, and that you’ll come back next month. Until then I bid you all a fond adieu, sans the little apostrophe or whatever that thing is that the French are able to make on their keyboards that I never can. Happy blogging!

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

7 thoughts on “The Month in Review: February 2016”

    1. Oh, gosh, you’re welcome! I think I manage to string a few parts of speech together in an inoffensive manner. {blushing}

      I want Photo&5 to take off! It’s kind of like travel to exotic places without the TSA! And you get to learn stuff, too! What could be better?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think it is great that you do a monthly follow up/ review to check out your progress and what you need to work on. You have so many followers! That is very impressive. I really need to work on building up my view count and quality of content. Any tips to a fellow blogger and reader? Please check out my blog at https://morescoopplease.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I think my followers and viewers are at an acceptable level considering I’ve not done anything outside of WordPress. No Facebook, no Twitter or anything. I’ve checked your blog out before (again just now) and I’m not sure I have any recommendations for you, except to find blogs like yours that you enjoy and link to them, so that their followers can find you and vice versa. Post often, link, comment, like, that’s all the tools I’ve used. Find a post you like and write a follow up where you link back to the post with your post. And no matter what, keep up the good work. I love the post on the best and worst dressed at the Oscars. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! Yeah they basically drilled all of that into us in Blogging 101 from the WordPress Blogging University. I should keep trying it. Thanks again for the advice and good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

