To All My Buddies

When are you no longer BFFs?

Just what constitutes being a buddy? A bud. A BFF. Can you be a buddy with someone you just met? Or is there some unwritten rule that says you can’t be best buds until some certain period of time has passed? Is it like a probationary period, are you like “buddies in waiting”, or maybe “provisional buddies?” And if you’re buddies, can you fall out of “buddy-ness”, like we humans fall in and then out of love?

I’ve had lots of buddies over the years. There was my buddy Peter, who lived across the alley when I was a kid. I look back on that time, and I think we were inseparable, but then, we weren’t, because I haven’t seen him for decades. Were we really buddies?

There was my buddy Scot that I wrote about in this post. We were buds, but then we weren’t. I wonder what happened. Did we cross some invisible line of buddy-hood? Would we still be buddies if we met up tomorrow? I’d like to think so, but I’m not sure, and I haven’t seen him in decades either.

According to my Mom I was buddies with Brenda, the daughter of Mom and Dad’s close friends, when we were both toddlers. I don’t remember that at all, and I doubt I would know her if she was standing in front of me right now. And I was buddies with Joe, the kid from next door, and I do remember that. We had lots of Tom Sawyer bonding moments, sneaking away and smoking cigarettes and stuff like that. But I haven’t seen him for decades either. I’m not sure I would recognize him.

Then there was my buddy Dan, from high school. There were few days that we didn’t hang out and engage in some nefarious activity back then, but now not so much. Haven’t seen him years. And then there was Mike, from this post, and Jeff, who intimidated the hell out of me when I was a kid, and apologized for it when I saw him last year. I wonder if we’re still buds. I think so.

As I read back over this, it strikes me that you probably shouldn’t consider me as your buddy, because it probably won’t last. Look at my track record! Or perhaps, they’re still all my buddies, but we’re just not in the same place these days. Yeah, that’s it. They’re just buddies I haven’t seen in a while. And may never see again. But still buddies to the end.

Buddy

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

1 thought on “To All My Buddies”

Leave a Reply

