There’s a Hole in my Bucket

Why a Bucket List?

Background_shots_of_Tryweryn_including_farms_and_local_people_(16830909472)
    Alternate casting for “The Bucket List”

What is it with this Bucket List thing? Why have people become so obsessed with putting things in a list and attaching a morbid title like “Bucket List” or “Things to do Before I Die?” If Rob Reiner hadn’t cast Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson in a buddy movie would we even be having this conversation? I’ll admit I didn’t watch the movie, and based on reviews I probably didn’t miss much, but if not for the movie would there be such a phenomenon?

So perhaps you suspect I haven’t made a Bucket List. Well, your suspicions are well founded. I don’t have a Bucket List, and I don’t plan on making one anytime soon. A Bucket List would rank right up there with New Year’s resolutions. It seems to me most Bucket Lists should be titled “These are the Things I’ll Never Get to Do But That I Want You All to Know I Want to Do Them List.”

I’ve never started a sentence with the words “I won’t feel fulfilled until I do or see X.” I’ve never contemplated my life and said “If only I had done or seen Y.” The things that I have already done and seen are my Bucket List. The things that I will do and see today are also on my Bucket List. I think I’m going to turn this Bucket List thing on its head. I’m going to start listing the things I’ve done and seen instead of listing things I’ll be disappointed not to do or see. Because I’m happy being here and alive in the present. And whatever the present brings me is Bucket List enough.

Kick It

Author: rudyblues57

A fellow traveler in our journey around the neighborhood thermonuclear explosion. Full of random thoughts and esoteric observations about the human condition, how we treat each other, and other detritus of life.

7 thoughts on “There’s a Hole in my Bucket”

Leave a comment

The Book of Life 📖

Symphony of my experiences in travel, tech, food and everything else I love.

imyesterdaysgirl

a blog about history....

She's A Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

houseunwrittendotcom

a place for beautiful, extraordinary things in an ordinary life

At My Desk

Help me, I'm awkward

Poetry Out West

Poetry & Prose by Jodine Derena Butler